REVIEW: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Well-Meant, But Too Fanfic-y

Assalamualaikum w.b.t.

I haven’t posted a review for ages. Guess which Potterhead only read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child today? Yep, this one. Funny thing is I actually planned to read it during the first week of its release. At first it was because I was on campus (difficult to go out) and also because I didn’t want to blow my cash on a hardcover book. And then my brother in Japan got a copy so I decided I’d wait until the semester break. But then all the negative reviews started coming out 😅 And my brother directly said that it sucked. So, I have been too scared to read it. Until a few hours ago.

cursed-child

WARNING: MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD.

I couldn’t put it down once I started. I actually liked the plot, overall. And I like that it touches on certain themes like Albus being a black sheep, Albus’ and Scorpius’ bond as two boys who don’t fit in (it felt like a canon Scorbus fic in print actually… with hints on every other page), Harry’s parenting issues, The Gang getting together, etc.

But yeah, some things were waaayyy too much like bad fanfic (I know… I’ve read dozens of HP fanfic). Like Voldemort and Bellatrix having a daughter. And Hermione becoming a grumpy professor just because Ron didn’t love her. And the story just kinda went downhill from the part when Scorpius went to the Scorpion King time and Snape believed him so easily and was nice all of a sudden.

And it was different from reading J.K. Rowling’s usual magical prose. Perhaps the script would be better translated to the stage and not seem so strange then. And she didn’t even write the script — Tiffany and Thorne did.

But overall, it was okay and entertaining. I’d give it 3.9/5 maybe.

(For your information, I’d give all the other HP books 5/5… or more)

My mind is having a hard time accepting that it’s canon though. I’ll probably just act like I published fanfiction. Except I’ve read better Harry Potter fanfiction.

I’ll quote a fan from a Reddit forum discussion:

CC expanded the world that we all love so much nearly a decade after we all thought it was over. Regardless of the plot holes and quirks, I’m forever thankful that as an adult I got to feel how I felt as a kid cracking open a HP story for the very first time.

Leave a Reply

