#NaNoWriMo16

Assalamualaikum w.b.t.

shield-nano-side-blue-brown-rgb-hires

Something I wrote got published in The Star lately, and my friends made sure to say to me, “Jangan lupa kitorang kalau dah jadi journalist berjaya nanti!”.

I may write a lot, but I doubt I would ever become a journalist. The kind that reports news and covers events. I’d like being a journalist for a university campus newspaper but for actual newspapers? Not so much. Especially after my Journalism paper last week. But who knows, I might change my mind one day.

But for now, I like writing Instagram captions and blog posts and works of fiction, not news. Hehe. Becoming a magazine editor or a columnist sounds fun, though.

In my head, I am always writing. When something interesting happens, I’m usually already arranging the words in my head to tweet/blog/write about it, AS it happens.

Anyway, this year, I am seriously planning on joining NaNoWriMo. For those of you who don’t know, NaNoWriMo refers to National Novel Writing Month, an annual online challenge to write a novel of at least 50,000 words during the 30 days of November.

I’ve known about NaNoWriMo for years, but back when I was in school, final exams were always at the end of October and would usually take up the first week of November as well, which didn’t exactly give me motivation to write a 50k-word novel. Last year was the first time I was actually free from academic commitments throughout the whole of November, but I lacked preparation and I was more excited about exploring Japan.

NaNoWriMo works for a lot of people, because writers all over the world join in. Even those with full-time jobs and other commitments. In other words, you’re in this thing together, you have a whole community of writers with you, and there are blogs and videos and Skype sessions dedicated to NaNoWriMo, which makes it much easier to write a novel than if you were to do it alone in your own time. Even my mother is planning on joining this year.

Anyway, today is the 26th of October and I still haven’t decided if I’m going to write an actual novel or if I’m going to become a NaNo rebel. NaNo rebels are those who write things other than novels but take advantage of the frantic get-it-done energy in November. They write non-fiction, academic works, poetry, and even graphic novels.

Because I know that writing fiction would take me much, much longer than writing non-fiction would. And I want to focus on other things also this semester break.

Last week, I borrowed a certain Malaysian social media influencer’s book from a friend. And I mused on how easy it is to get published in Malaysia, especially if you’re famous. You don’t even need to write in bahasa baku (proper BM).

“Kalau aku publish buku penuh dengan caption-caption aku, korang nak beli tak?”, I asked my roommates after daydreaming for about 15 minutes when I was supposed to be studying about press freedom and ethical dilemmas of journalists.

The response was pretty cool. Hihi. It’s nice to know people actually like reading what I write.

Maybe I’ll think about it thoroughly during my upcoming flight to Japan. Pray I have a safe journey! And pray that I will maintain an immense amount of istiqamah in writing this November!

Leave a Reply

