3 Lessons I Learned From Clearing My Room

Assalamualaikum w.b.t.

I am finally done with finals. I am finally done with Semester 3. I woke up this morning in my dorm room (well, my friend Fatimah’s dorm room actually because I spent the night there) and actually couldn’t believe I didn’t have to study today. What bliss ❤

My roommates know very well, that I bring a lot of stuff to uni. The first reason is because, I dunno, I am naturally like that. I suck at packing light even though I travel quite a lot. I’m always like, “But what if I need this?…”. The second reason is because I always dump my stuff at my house after finals and then fly straight to Japan, spend a month or so there, come back to Malaysia like one day before the semester starts, pick up all my things at my house, and drive back to uni. So….. yeah.

This semester I had the misfortune for my room to be placed at Level 3, the highest level of Kolej Tun Perak. My roommates left earlier than me — in fact, like all my friends left earlier than me. So I had to bring all my stuff down by myself.

I think it took about ten trips up and down? Maybe more. God knows.

I was really, really exhausted even after a few trips. All those flights of stairs. So I thought, what’s the use of all this sweat if I don’t receive any pahala for it?

I remembered that Habib Umar bin Hafiz once said, “Whoever opens for himself a door of good intention, Allah opens for him 70 doors of divine enabling grace [tawfiq]“.

So I tried to renew my intentions (niat) for clearing my room.

  • To be a good servant of Allah.
  • To make it easy for the makcik cleaners to do their jobs. Some irresponsible people tend to simply leave their stuff and bags of trash lying everywhere.
  • To not put burden upon my grandmother who is old, frequently gets headaches, and struggles with staircases. She might feel the need to go up until Level 3 to help with clearing my room.
  • Going up and down the staircases as a form of exercise to be healthy and fit after spending too much time at the study table for the past few weeks.
  • So that I know the meaning of hardship and learn to truly appreciate the invention of elevators.
  • What goes around comes around, so, I hope that by making things easy for people, people will make things easy for me.

Remember to renew your niat. For anything and everything. At the beginning, in the middle, and at the end. So that nothing you do in this world will feel useless.

Also, second thing, I was annoyed that some people had their little siblings helping to carry their stuff like cute little dwarves and then there was me, struggling alone.

But then I remembered that famous hadith when Fatimah r.a. asked the Prophet if she could have the assistance of a maid to help her with overwhelming house chores. And this was his reply:

Shall I not teach you something better than what you asked for? When you go to your bed, say ‘Subhanallah’ thirty-three times, ‘Alhamdulillah’ thirty-three times and ‘Allahuakbar’ thirty-three times. That is better for you than a servant.” [Sahih Bukhari: 3502 and Muslim: 2727]

(By the way, that hadith does not mean that it is forbidden to have a maid or live in luxury. Do watch this video, ‘What’s Too Extravagant?’ by Nouman Ali Khan if you have time.)

But anyway, I tried doing just that. And suddenly the work didn’t seem as tiring as it was just now. Like, seeeeriously. MasyaAllah 😀

Thirdly, a friend left two bottles of water in my room. I was sooooo tempted to just leave them there. Dahlah barang aku dah banyak, tengah penat dan berpeluh level 5000, kena fikir pasal barang orang pulak. But luckily He gave me hidayah to actually bring the bottles down to the ground level, water some plants, and then throw the empty bottles at the rubbish dump.

Narrated Anas bin Malik: Allah’s Apostle said, “There is none amongst the Muslims who plants a tree or sows seeds, and then a bird, or a person or an animal eats from it, but is regarded as a charitable gift for him“. [Bukhari]

Charity (sedekah) is way more than just money. Time, energy, encouraging good and even preventing wrong is charity. And the best of charity is when you give something that is dear to you. “You cannot attain to righteousness unless you spend (in charity) out of what you love (Surah ‘Ali Imran [3:92])”. Meaning, let’s say you’re like a billionaire with ten luxury cars, and it wouldn’t hurt you at all to give RM5000 per month to your kids. But perhaps free time is precious to you because you’re always so busy thinking about work. Yet you choose to spend that free time with your family. That is charity.

In this case, my charity was my energy. May Allah accept it.

Basically, three things I want to remember from clearing my dorm room today.

  1. Always renew intentions
  2. The importance of zikr
  3. Give what you love in charity

 

I write this post not because I want you to think highly of me. Believe me I do not act like this every day. Most days I have a horrible, negative personality.

So why am I posting this for the whole world to see? Not everyone who will read this post will read it wearing rose-coloured glasses. There will be people who will think things like, ‘eleh, Arifah tu acah je baik dekat blog dia bla bla bla padahal in real life bla bla bla’. (But really, I don’t blame them if they think that way).

I guess I could write this in a secret diary and tuck it away from the rest of the world. Pastu boleh lah saya rasa syok sendiri secretly believing that I am a good person because ‘tak riak’. But I won’t. Because I truly believe that sharing good things, especially writings, can inspire people. And I hope it inspires you, dear reader.

But most of all, I hope it inspires ME when I read this post in the future, when I’m going through rough times and forget about little things like these.

2 thoughts on “3 Lessons I Learned From Clearing My Room

Leave a Reply

