Kahwin Awal

Assalamualaikum w.b.t.

I watched a bunch of YouTube videos earlier this morning, mostly from married young Malaysians. Then, I fell asleep and I dreamt that I was newly married to one of them (tak payah lah sebut nama, kalau isteri dia jumpa blog aku macam mana?). Apparently the marriage was very toned down — I only told my friends after the akad nikah and gave them the shock of their lives. I wasn’t even eighteen yet. I only remembered the dream around fifteen minutes after I woke up, and laughed to myself at the ridiculousness of it all.

Maybe not so ridiculous after all.

Around an hour and a half later, I decided to catch up with a friend to ask her how she was doing. She told me that her akad nikah is going to be in eleven days, Insya Allah. WELL, I HAD THE SHOCK OF MY LIFE.

Still, it was less shocking that it was her particularly and not anyone else, because, I always assumed that she would get married earlier than everyone else. But not this early, I guess. She’s not even eighteen yet.

When I was a child, I was sort-of groomed to believe that getting married early is bad.

“Do people get married before university or after university?”

Doge (degil) people get married before university lah!”

Except, my dear friend has already completed the first part of her Islamic studiesย (she quit secondary school way before SPM, wore the niqab, left for another country) and she memorised the Holyย Qur’an. From what I can observe, she left virtually everything she had for the sake of Allah. That includes all forms of social media, male friends, going out, her family (temporarily), her comfort zone, etc. It’s funny, because I didn’t have a good first impression of her. I’m not going to go into detail… but, just imagine having a truly terrible first impression of someone only through online stalking. She has truly gone through a 180-degree change.ย She was supposed to further her studies to Yemen, but since Yemen is seeing a lot of turmoil right now, her studies were postponed. And Allah is the best of planners.

I’m not saying getting married early is good for everyone. But it is definitely the best option for certain people.

And as you might assume, obviously she and her future husband (not a Malaysian) were never a couple, never went on dates, never sent each other morning texts or flowers or teddy bears. She met him through a murabbi, went through the ta’aruf process, and all nikah plans were settled in a month.

Most people can only dream of this kind of beautiful halal relationship. I have to say, my friend is a very fortunate servant of Allah and I wish her the best in her marriage. Mabrouk!

2 thoughts on “Kahwin Awal

  1. It’s ok to marry early if you meet someone responsible enough yg jaga hablum minallah and hablum minannas. One is not enough, mesti balance dunia akhirat sbb apa yg kita buat di dunia, kesannya di akhirat. Jgn kejar dunia sampsi lupa akhirat but money is equally important, do not underestimate its importance. Without money, banyak restrictions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

