adults.

Assalamualaikum w.b.t.

What did you think of adults before you were one? What do you think of adults now?

SCENARIO ONE

Recently I went to an education fair at University X, and I went to the booth for said university itself. Obviously they had the biggest, grandest booth as it was their own university. I sat down to talk with one of the promoters, asked about the requirements for a few programs, and then asked for a prospectus. And guess what? Said promoter looked at me in that ridiculous way adults always look at children, stifling a laugh. You know, that look that basically means, “Wow, kid, you’re so adorable and naive about the world”.

And he proceeded to ask me, “Prospektus tu apa, dik?”.

Are you kidding me, bruh.

SCENARIO TWO

I was at driving school. I had only been there once before during registration, and it was quite a huge place. I scanned my thumbprint for KPP01 (kursus teori 6 jam), and then asked the guy at the counter, “Kursus dia dekat mana eh?”. He gave me that look, sighed (an urgh-I-hate-dealing-with-kids kind of sigh), and said, “Kat sini lah”.

Just so you know, bang, I wouldn’t be asking the kursus was at Zimbabwe.

***

I could talk about a thousand experiences like this. Relatives laughing at my supposed naivety when I was eleven and told them that licking your fingers after a meal is a sunnah of Rasulullah s.a.w. Nurses from government hospitals scoffing at ‘minor’ wounds. Cashiers who think I’m dumb enough to not notice them shortchanging me. Clerks who act before they think.

Just because you’re thirty years older, doesn’t mean your IQ is equivalent to Albert Einstein. Just because you hate your job, doesn’t mean you get to treat your customers like trash.

This is precisely why Roald Dahl always criticises and makes fun of adults in his literature. Adults who lie and cheat and steal. Adults who obsessively chase after fame and riches. Adults who can’t stand the sight of their own children.

adults

In the course of this life I have had a great many encounters with a great many people who have been concerned with matters of consequence. I have lived a great deal among grown-ups. I have seen them intimately, close at hand. And that hasn’t much improved my opinion of them.” – The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

But of course, I have met adults who are sparky, intelligent, brimming with substance, feel happy to spend time with those younger than them, and actually have their priorities right in life. Alhamdulillah for that.

But if I ever turn into one of those adults, you have full permission to slap me on the face and link this blog post to me.

Less than six months until I turn eighteen.

Be the person you needed when you were younger.” – Unknown

Leave a Reply

