the outcome.

Assalamualaikum w.b.t.

Alor Gajah always seemed way too near whenever I had to return there after PB. But yesterday it couldn’t have been further away

I arrived at exactly 11 and was greeted by a LOT of juniors, hahaha. I miss them so. Not to mention my batchmates, of course! I was pretty annoyed to find out that you couldn’t take your results yet, but I saw it as an opportunity to drag Darshini to the Jabatan Sains/Bahasa and the Jabatan Maths/Sains Sosial, to give my thanks to around thirty teachers who taught me priceless bits of knowledge over the past two years. Of course, I’m sure every single teacher in MRSM Alor Gajah has played a part in my life, but I only had so much time. Plus, Mum called to say that the counters were open.

So berdebar-debar lah masa turun tangga nak pergi dewan balik.

I was just confused where to get the SPM slip and somebody misled me so I ended up taking the envelope with the sijils inside first and thought my results were in there. Haih. Then I went to the actual SPM slip counter and lined up at the wrong one because I thought one line was for guys and one line was for girls. Argh.

Then with lafaz bismillah I finally took my slip.

Cerita panjang: 5A+ 1A 2B 1C+ 1C

Cerita pendek: 6A 2B 2C

Cerita lagi panjang:

Bahasa Melayu, A+

Gembira. Sebab untuk PMR aku dapat B untuk BM. Walhal aku tak pernah dapat A untuk BM sehinggalah pra-percubaan SPM, walaupun aku rasa macam setiap kali peperiksaan aku berusaha sedaya upaya mungkin.

Bahasa Inggeris, A+

Expected. Alhamdulillah.

Pendidikan Islam, A+

Subjek ni pun aku tak pernah dapat A selepas PMR (even for pre-trials and trials) walaupun sentiasa berusaha. Tak sia-sia maktab hantar pergi Kem SPA Pendidikan Islam.

Mathematics, A+

This one really mirrors my PMR. Pretty sure I got C’s and D’s before the exam (yes, my Maths was that pathetic) so for the second week of PMR I studied Maths like crazy and sacrificed KH for it. The night before the last day of PMR, I only slept for 2 hours because I was desperate for an A for Maths. And I got it. Thank you Allah.

Even a month and a half before SPM I was still clueless about Maths and got like, 50+ marks, so I owe it to my tuition teacher Cikgu Lokman for guiding me over the holidays. I became addicted to doing Maths model papers after that.

Pendidikan Seni Visual A+

Expected. Alhamdulillah. Now I can finally upload my drawing for Paper 2.

Sejarah, A

My weakness is always Sejarah — I assume that I can cover everything in a short period of time, so I focus on other subjects. I could’ve got an A+ if I tried a little harder, but what’s done is done.

Additional Mathematics, B

I guess my parents were hoping for at least an A-, after long and costly tuition hours. But hey, it’s something. I couldn’t give all my attention to Add Maths. I got 22 for trials. For the first exam of the year I got 7. So Alhamdulillah for a B.

Biology, B

I expected a C, really. So Alhamdulillah.

Physics, C+

This one is quite disappointing because Physics is usually the best out of all my science subjects and I was expecting to get something in the range of A- to B. Oh well.

Chemistry, C

Glad I didn’t fail!

OVERALL: Alhamdulillah. All is well.

alhamdulillah

Yeah, I know. I focused on my strong subjects and ignored my weak ones. ‘Cause some people got, say, 7 or 8 A’s but only 2A+’s, yet the rest are B+’s or B’s.

Ah. Never mind. I have no interest in pursuing maths or science-related fields anyway.

Ramai orang dapat 5A. Aku bersyukur kerana aku dapat juga ambik Pendidikan Seni. 100% A! And four out of five of us got A+’s. I just hope pengetua lets future generations take Seni even though I don’t think any of us got more than 6A’s.

I had no choice but to take up the science stream in MRSM. Well, even before that, I was in the science stream. Maybe if the kids who got good grades for PMR didn’t get automatically pigeonholed into science stream, I would’ve chosen art stream.

Maybe 6A’s isn’t society’s ideal grade but I’m happy. I’m actually super-relieved that I don’t have to apply to all those scholarships from Khazanah, Shell, PNB, Petronas, et cetera that will only make me get a migraine. I know what I want to do and I have my own plans to find success in life. On the way back home I even sent in my application for a certain art and design school. If all goes well I’ll finally get to chase my lifelong dream of becoming an artist.

So, no matter what your results, I want to say congratulations. Congratulations for completing your education and having something to show after eleven years of schooling. Some people don’t have the privilege of education. Accept your results with an open heart and thank Him.

To those who got pretty grades, all the best in life. Follow your dreams and not anyone else’s. To those who got average or not-so-pretty grades, never stop looking and never stop learning. Find your strengths. There are a million opportunities out there, and they will come to you if you make an effort.

There are people who got 10A’s yet couldn’t get themselves a place in university. There are people who got 2A’s who managed to pursue their degree overseas. It all depends on your will.

Our time in school is done. Now let’s venture to the real world, go our separate paths and make the most out of life.

4 thoughts on “the outcome.

  1. Assalamualaikum sis , macam mana Cara sis study ya untuk dpt A+ bagi 5 subjek yang sis dpt tu? Sis selalu bangun awal pagi ke? Atau sis hafal satu buku? And mcm macam sis manage masa untuk study especially waktu weekend dan cuti sekolah? Atau sis ada buat jadual belajar ke?

    Like

    1. Waalaikummussalam. Hahah. Sis tak rajin study pun, sempoi-sempoi je. Sekolah sis selalu buat bengkel subjek. Cuba fokus dalam kelas dan selalulah bertanya kalau tak faham. Paling penting, selalu berdoa kepada Allah dan mintak maaf pada ibu bapa. Jangan buat benda yang Allah larang. Ilmu itu cahaya, cahaya susah nak masuk ke dalam hati orang yang buat maksiat. All the best 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

