CW: the oh-so-tedious process of preparing coffee.

Assalamualaikum w.b.t.

My submission for MRSM Alor Gajah’s school magazine, 2014.

the oh-so-tedious process of preparing coffee.

home is where i do not have to raid every room on my floor in the hostel to find the kettle if it is not in the iron bay.

home is where i do not have to walk down three flights of stairs just to get tap water to boil, because 
the toilets of every other floor are undergoing renovation.

home is where there is a special plug socket allocated to the kettle, so there is no need to compete with those who want to iron their clothes or charge their phones. 

home is the place where i can make coffee at any given time – and the place where I do not even need coffee that much in the first place because I have the freedom to choose when I want to sleep or rise. 

but, the hostel is where i can find dozens of sachets of nescafe 3-in-1 in the store room, and because no one claims them even after i yell multiple times on my floor, i take the whole lot with a huge grin on my face and give half the sachets to my roommate.

By Arifah Husna, 5 Actuary

Leave a Reply

