bamboo fun.

Assalamualaikum w.b.t.
My blog looks so darn bland without pictures. And I claim to be a visual person. Hmph. So here is one.

tumblr_inline_niy4hpj1yl1s0mxth

I would like to introduce y’all to my tablet. A tablet I bought waaaay before iPads and Galaxy Tabs were invented. It’s a Wacom Bamboo Fun. It’s nameless (I can never maintain calling my gadgets by names) and I bought it in 2008 for RM300+, when I was 11. Now I’m 17 going on 18. It’s probably the only gadget I’ve been using without replacement for the past six and a half years.

Maybe those of you who don’t know much about digital art aren’t familiar with this sort of thing. Basically it’s like working with pen and paper, except your work will appear on a computer screen.

I personally prefer digital art over fine art due to the following reasons.

a) No need to spend money on brushes, canvas boards, paints, etc. Less travelling to buy those items, too.

b) No need to clean up. No trying to get paint out of your clothes. No acrylic stains on the floor.

c) Digital art is very portable, as are the tools to create digital art. So, you don’t have to bring an easel with you everywhere.

d) No more old-fashioned playing with watercolours to get that EXACT shade of sunset pink. Just pick from the virtual colour palette.

e) Easier to print in numerous copies.

f) Best of all – the UNDO button!

Of course, the cons of digital art exist. It will require an immense amount of patience and tolerance to stop bursting into tears if you’ve been working on a piece for an hour and suddenly your computer hangs and shuts down. Or if you lose files of the masterpieces you worked hard on. But I still prefer digital art, overall.

I don’t remember a time in my life that I WASN’T involved in digital art.

I toyed around with MS Paint a lot since the age of three or four. I even remember not knowing how to use the eraser tool, so I actually manually erased every single line with the brush tool, white in colour.

My talent didn’t progress much until I moved to Japan and had nothing better to do than try to recreate anime drawings on MS Paint. I also spent a lot of time on websites that thrived on art such as Neopets and Gaia Online. During that period I also learnt the basics of photo editing. I thought my nine-year-old art was amazing and felt annoyed when people on the internet said things like, ‘my niece could draw that!’. But look on the bright side! I’m not new to criticism!
When I got my tablet at the ripe age of eleven and a half, I graduated from MS Paint and used Corel Painter. My first attempts with the tablet were horribly sad excuses for artwork. I improved slightly at the age of twelve when I tried using Photoshop.

Due to the heavy influence of Tumblr, I created quite a lot of pieces during the first three years of secondary school. Unfortunately I didn’t have room to improvise while I was at boarding school most of the time at the age of sixteen to seventeen. So I’m trying to make up for it now. I just discovered the awesomeness of PaintTool SAI recently!

Leave a Reply

